This post may contain affiliate links. If you click on one of my links, I may receive a small compensation at no cost to you. Thank you for supporting The Penny Pantry! Read My Disclosure Policy
These are my Top Picks for Vegan Easter Chocolate and Candy. Easter is April 12th this year, so we have some time if we need to order anything. Keep in mind, however, that seasonal vegan candy and chocolate does tend to sell out. We started off with a lot of choices this past Valentine’s Day, and were down to 1-2 items on all of Amazon.
I hope you enjoy these Vegan Easter Candies & Chocolates I picked!
Non-Vegan Ingredients to Look Out for in Candy
Besides the obvious ones like milk, gelatin, eggs, etc. here are some lesser-known non-vegan/potentially non-vegan ingredients:
- Confectioner’s glaze (insect-based)
- Shellac (insect-based)
- Resinous Glaze (insect)
- Carmine (beetles)
- Vit. D3 (usually not vegan)
- Albumen (eggs)
- Natural flavors (can be either animal or plant-based)
There are also apps now where you can scan the barcodes to check for vegan ingredients, but I haven’t tried those yet, so don’t know how reliable they are.
Vegan Jelly Beans
Did you know that many Jelly Beans sold in the stores are not even vegetarian, as they contain confectioner’s glaze, gelatin and/or beeswax?
We do have a few vegan options:
- Jolly Rancher’s Original Flavor Jelly Beans
- WarHeads’ Sour Jelly Beans
- YumEarth Naturals’ Sour Jelly Beans (Gummy Bears are NOT vegan)
- Nerds Jelly Beans
- Galerie’s Candy Speckled Eggs (These are available at Walmart stores.)
Dark Chocolate Lindt Bunny
This was my most exciting Easter discovery one year! This is a nice affordable vegan Chocolate Bunny for the baskets. You can also order this Dark Chocolate Bunny for $4.29 online at Target HERE.
I noticed that the Target site lists milk as an ingredient, but milk is not listed in the ingredient list on the bunny. I did a separate post on these bunnies, and you can even order a FREE personalized ribbon thru April 1st.
Natural Candy Store Online
Natural Candy Store is my go-to for my holiday candy and chocolates. They have many vegan options.
I have been ordering from this company since 2012. I order my holiday vegan candy and chocolate for my daughter from them, and have always been impressed with the quality and selection.
You can also try to use the Promo Code WelcomeCC to get 1/4 lb. of Free Candy! (This is an older code, let me know if it still works for you!)
Free Samples: They do include Free Samples that you can choose with every order as well.
Vegan Easter Chocolate on Amazon
(Also see the jelly beans above)
Vegan Easter Candy in the Stores
There are some vegan candies you may be able to find at your local stores. Look for Skittles, Dum Dums, Twizzlers, etc. at the Dollar Stores.
The Grocery Outlet & Costco may have bags of candy that only contain Swedish Fish (most are vegan) & Sour Patch Candies.
The Drugstores will have some vegan options, (like these SweeTart ones), just check for the ingredients I listed at the top of this post.
You can order candy online from the Dollar Tree and have it shipped for FREE to your local store!
Update: I just found out they have suspended online ordering, but you can still view products online.
Check ingredients carefully! Some companies will have accidentally vegan of one flavor or type, but not all. Example: Nerds has some flavors of vegan candies, but not all! Enjoy Life had a nice chocolate Halloween variety pack this year, but one of the candies was not vegan.
A special note on Amazon Chocolate Bunnies: There were so many reports that they arrived broken. I do not want this to happen to any of you, so I am not recommending the ones this happened with on Amazon. I found one with really good reviews and included it. If you would like a traditional Chocolate Bunny, I can confidently recommend ordering those through The Natural Candy Store. Those bunnies are a bit sturdier, and their packaging is the most careful I have ever encountered!