This post may contain affiliate links. If you click one of my links, I may receive a small compensation at no cost to you. Thank you for supporting The Penny Pantry!
It’s that time of year again for vegans when we may hear about carmine in candy canes. Well-meaning friends and family may warn us that, “All Candy Canes are made of ground up bugs”. Is there any truth to this? What’s a vegan to do? Info. on carmine and cochineal in our food.
Rest assured, If carmine and cochineal are included in a food, per the FDA it has to be included in the ingredient list.
I checked several boxes of candy canes recently, and they contained Red #40, which is made from coal. If artificial dyes aren’t your thing, you can always order from Natural Candy Store. You can read my post HERE and get a promo code for a FREE (bug free!) bag of candy. These candy canes are 35% Off right now!
Have a sweet holiday! 🙂